Published September 30th, 2017 by
Patrician Press

£4.99 (e-book)
£9.00 (print)

Click on Book to buy from amazon
Mrs Fisher's Tulip
Television and Film
War Changes Everything
Photo Gallery
mel-1-s-1_nehru%2023003003.jpg mel-1-s-1_nehru%2023003002.jpg
Midnight Legacy

This is Nita’s Story. Born during the First World War, she is illegitimate. When her mother marries, she doesn’t get on with her stepfather. At grammar school she meets Yolanda who introduces her to the vibrant Italian community. The two young women become involved in the left-wing intellectual life of London in the 1930s. She meets Rikh, an activist in the India League. When war is declared, Rikh is seconded to bomber command and they marry in haste. While Rikh is away, she meets Lal, an Indian prince, and they have a whirlwind love affair. As the war engulfs the world, Rikh is posted back to India and Nita goes with him even though their marriage is unhappy…

Nita’s story continues in Melanie’s second novel: Midnight Legacy.
Midnight Legacy by Melanie Hughes is the sequel to War Changes Everything and Nita’s story continues. She and Rikh arrive in Madras. Rikh’s squadron is based in Ambala, one of India’s oldest military bases and head of operations for the Combined Allied Forces. Rikh takes part in bombing raids on Burma. Bored and miserable, Nita has an affair with a young pilot. She leaves Rikh and goes to Lahore, ‘the Paris of the East’. She discovers she is pregnant when the Second World War ends and communal violence is building up all over India. After meeting up again briefly with Lal, an Indian Prince, Nita finally moves to Dehra Dun. In an orgy of violence, India at last achieves her independence.

“Just the sort of book I love. Set in an era where people like Nita were beginning to overturn prejudice and live a life of their own choosing. In times of great instability and drama this book reminds you to appreciate the courage of that generation. It covers aspects of that time I was previously unaware of and which I learned about with great interest through Nita's story.”

Madeleine Bentley

            Published November 1st, 2017 by
            Patrician Press

            £4.99 (e-book)
            £10.00 (print

             Click on Book to buy from Amazon
      Melanie Hughes